developer (#13) - OpenStreetMap? (OSM) network topology (#291) - Message List

OpenStreetMap? (OSM) network topology

Hi there, I'm quite new to pgrouting (but not new to routing algorithms). I'm working with OSM data and pgrouting seems to be the extension I need to add to PostgreSQL/PostGIS. I read the documentation and some topics in the forum with interest. I have a simple question I'd like to put to the developers regarding creating network topology onto OSM data. This workshop "FOSS4G routing with pgRouting tools and OpenStreetMap? road data" (http://pgrouting.postlbs.org/wiki/WorkshopFOSS4G2008) at this point "Load your network data and create a network topology --> Create network topology" mentions the following: "Note: The dimension of the tolerance parameter depends on your data projection. Usually it's either "degrees" or "meters". Because OSM data has a very good quality for Cape town we can choose a very small "snapping" tolerance: 0.00001 degrees". Now, network topology is implicit in OSM data. Creating OSM data is in fact creating connectivity (but I can only speak for the UK data). The OSM xml file defines a series of nodes and ways; ways are a collection of nodes. Creating a set of connectivity rules / network topology is a matter of parsing the xml file and finding what ways have common nodes (in simple terms). In my opinion there is no need of geographic functions (e.g. distance): making use of these functions would only introduce the risk of errors. Is there any reason for the use of a snapping function in the OSM case? Does anyone know if a kind of OSM xml parser/processor, as the one hinted above, exist? Thanks

• Message #1042

Thanks for bringing up this discussion!

There are probably two reasons for having this "distance" parameter: